I Heart Faces – #44

I decided to participate in the I Heart Faces Fix it Fridays today and I am so glad I did.  I experimented with things I had read a lot about, but never tried successfully.  Like layer masks to remove texture where I don’t want it or to lighten and darken areas of the picture.  Here is what I started with.

I am using Gimp to edit this photo.

I don’t remember everything I did to each picture, but I will try to remember what I can.

Here is my color fix.  I cropped first then I adjusted levels and curves.  Duplicated and added a layer mask to darken all the light spots and another to lighten the dark spots.  I think I used overlay or soft light for the layers with abort a 30% opacity.

Next I made a black and white version.  I converted it to black and white using the color channels.  Then I played a bit with the layers to get it the way I liked it.

And finally with a little texture.

This was so fun!  I will definitely do it again!

2 thoughts on “I Heart Faces – #44

Leave a Reply

